My Placement Experience

Recently I gained a couple of weeks experience in a neurology department and without doubt it was the most rewarding thing I have ever done. It was a culmination of all those years slaving away in school, those long hours and late nights in the library finally coming together in a moment of enlightenment and happiness. For me placement was the most educating and exhilarating experience of my life. It opened my eyes as a physiotherapist but also as a person. Firstly, the people I was working with and learning from were outstanding in their field as well as with their patients. They were excellent in the way they dealt with us as students and welcomed us into the challenging world of physiotherapy. I worked with about 6 physiotherapists in total and I will take something from each of their approaches because they were simply excellent role models. For example one thing I will take away from my experience is that you have to empower the patient because ultimately they will be the one to decide their outcome.

Secondly, the importance of research and being up to date with evidence was a key point that stuck in my mind. Clinical reasoning was to the forefront at all times, its importance was drilled into us and the reason was evident. To effectively treat patients, to help them reach their goals and have them really get behind you as a physiotherapist and the treatments, they as well as you have to believe in the efficacy of the treatment.Cold hard science, and experience to utilise this evidence, is the only thing that can back that up. Having been praised on my clinical reasoning skills in my feedback I am confident I learnt a lot in this aspect. One thing I found interesting was how they adapted the evidence based on their clinical experience. The Bobath technique formed the basis of their approach, I understand the evidence base behind this is iffy at best, however they took this evidence and developed it with clinical experience, adapted as they learnt and they were getting results. For me that was incredibly interesting because yes the new focus on evidence based practice has driven us forward and improved our standards it cannot be our only basis for treatment. Clinical experience and know how cannot be forgotten.

Thirdly, placement really can be a life changing experience. It matures you, makes you aware of other peoples troubles and the health issues that are now rampant in our society. Looking at young adults in their prime shot down by illness or injury leading to hemiplegia or quadriplegia, with their secondary issues, is simply scary. Yet it reaffirmed my desire to help people. It made me want to be a physiotherapist more. One thing that we were constantly reminded of as we looked around at patients who had suffered from strokes or hypoxic brain injuries, from heart attacks, was how obesity is now rampant in our society and how it is really starting to affect the health of our population. Since I finished placement I have dropped half a stone and plan on losing more. It has really opened my eyes to the epidemic of inactivity that is rampaging through society. I now know why exercise is so important and why it has got to be the pillar that supports our profession.

One thing that really stuck in my mind during placement, especially after talking to the students from the other college, is that their has to be more focus on SOAP notes/note taking in college because simply what we are provided with isn’t up to scratch. I think this is vitally important because of the issues that could possibly arise if note taking isn’t correct especially as young graduates starting new jobs. Also through discussions with our tutors it was pointed out that it was very hard for students to attend or get involved in courses outside of college on physiotherapy related topics due to the cost and our inexperience. This is something I would love to solve and maybe with some input from whoever reads this some steps may be taken towards that.Some topics that I found of interest on placement, and that may feature on this blog at some point, were:

  • Central pattern Generators
  • Phantom Pain
  • The Bobath Concept
  • Neuroplasticity

Finally, the people I worked with were simply phenomenal. Their desire to help people and work ethic was really something that inspired me. I am now aware that to do well you have to surround yourself with people who are driven, open minded and willing to work. I now have renewed passion to become a physiotherapist and help as many people as I can.

Thank you for reading. As always feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Leave a comment